About us

The International Association on Social Quality (previously known as the European Foundation on Social Quality) develops the social quality theory, methodology and policy application by exploring the dynamics and evolution of contemporary societies and their impact on the economic, socio-political, socio-cultural and environmental dimensions of daily circumstances. The IASQ works in close collaboration with the European Observatory on Social Quality in Rome, the Asian Consortium of Social Quality and a large network of scholars from a wide range of disciplines.


Bredeweg 8, 1098 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone +31 20 665 4923
Email: info@socialquality.org

The team

  • Dr. Laurent van der Maesen –  director
  • Drs. Helma Verkleij   –  editorial manager

IASQ Board members

  • Chair: Prof. Dr. Alan Walker, Sheffield University
  • Secretary: Dr. Laurent J.G. van der Maesen, IASQ
  • Treasurer: Dr. Ton Korver, former TNO and The Hague University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Marco Ricceri, Eurispes, Italy
  • Prof. Ka Lin, Zhejiang University, China
Prof. Dr. Alan Walker
Dr. Laurent van der Maesen
Prof. Ka Lin
Prof. Marco Ricceri


ANBI status
The International Association on Social Quality qualifies as an official charity in the Netherlands.
As such IASQ has an “ANBI status”.
Financial reports
You can read our financial annual reports here:

In project collaboration with

ISS, Part of Erasmus University - The Hague, the Netherlands

EURISPES - Institute of Political, Economic and Social Studies - Rome, Italy

Zhejiang University - Hangzhou, China